Skip to content

Birthdays! (And a Product Review)

July 9, 2011

This month…

my blog turned 1 and I turned 25!  And what a happy birthday it has been!

~

…My husband and I packed up the car, drove a few hours north to my hometown of Ozark, MO, and spent three delicious days with my family.  I could not have asked for a better 25th birthday.

Rather than a cake, my dear friend Angie made me a stunning rhubarb pie (my request.)  It was perfection.  In every way.

~

And it’s always been a tradition to watch fireworks on my birthday (since I was almost a 4th of July baby) but this year it wasn’t meant to be.  Twice we tried, and twice it rained!  (I feel the need to explain that the rain is to blame for my hair in the picture above where I’m blowing out the candles… it’s bad, I know.)

~

But the rain couldn’t spoil our good time.  We were still able to do some great shopping at the Branson Landing, even without a fireworks show!  Which brings me to this…

This is something I bought at the Landing on July 4th.

~

Ever heard of the Devo Olive Oil Company?  It’s a fabulous little store!  Inside are drums upon drums of oil and vinegar… in some of the most amazing and unusual flavors!  There are tasting cups everywhere and you can sample to your hearts content.

Among my favorites were the Tangerine-scented Olive Oil, the White Truffle Olive Oil, and THIS delightful treat!

~

Black Cherry Balsamic Vinegar!

Yum and YUM!

I was literally guzzling this straight from my sample cup.

~

If you think you don’t like balsamic vinegar, I implore you to go get your head checked.  It is the most delicious, rich, concentrated, delightfully sweetly acidic taste on the planet.

This particular flavor is awesome added to marinades for chicken or steak.

But today…

Today what I needed was some spinach, strawberries, blueberries, walnuts, and feta.

~

Drizzled with a simple vinaigrette of this fabulous new Black Cherry Balsamic, plus some olive oil, salt, pepper, and lime zest.  (Add a little honey if you like.)

Lunch for a queen… I need nothing more in life!  (My husband needed a little grilled chicken with his salad.  Also delicious, but I’m a happy camper without it.)

~

Go get you some 🙂

5 Comments leave one →
  1. jacque permalink
    July 9, 2011 10:59 pm

    Happy Belated Birthday to you. Glad you had a a good birthday. Wish we would get some rain. It is so dry here.THe olive oil sounds yummo . And the sald looks great.love to u both

  2. September 12, 2011 1:50 am

    Happy Belated Birthday to you! Thank you much for your beautiful comments in my blog. I truly appreciate it.. honest, from my heart. You have a beautiful place here yourself, with photographs warm and inviting! The bread looks simply amazing.. i can never resist the aroma of the fresh baked bread.

    Loving the rhubarb pie, and the sound of tangerine olive oil is making my mouth water:)

    • September 12, 2011 4:34 am

      Thank you for the compliments as well! Yours is the first blog in quite awhile that I’ve literally been unable to pull myself away from… I keep clicking back “just one more post” because the photographs are just stunning and I can’t wait to see the next one. Quite a gift, and I look forward to reading more!

Trackbacks

  1. Tunnel of Fudge Cake (for Chris’s Birthday!) « Pretty / Hungry
  2. Tunnel of Fudge Cake (for Chris’s Birthday!) |

Share Your Thoughts...