Skip to content

The Pork to Defy All Others: with Rosemary, Mustard, Honey, and Bacon

October 16, 2010

I know I say this every time I post, but…

You have to make this.

I know you think you can live without it now, but I’ve tried different pork recipes here and there.  And this one… well this is THE one!  I’m no longer looking for pork recipes.  I’ve found mine.

~

Of course, due to my limited photography skills, you may not be able to tell by lookin’ at it just how good this pork is.

Nor would the lay-man or woman look at the list of ingredients and think they were anything special.   But there is something about this combo, that when combined with juicy sweet/savory pork and roasted in the oven… it becomes something from another world!  I’ve never had anything like it.

Plus it’s easy!  Not as easy as a crockpot… but I think the deliciousness-factor more than makes up for that.

~

Here’s watcha need.  And don’t skimp on ingredients here.  It doesn’t call for much… so use good-quality stuff!  It’ll show.

~ a one-ish pound pork tenderloin (more if you’re serving it to more than four) trimmed of some of its excess fat

~12 slices of bacon

~2 T. chopped fresh rosemary

~1/4 C. dijon mustard

~2 T. whole grain mustard

~2 T. honey

~3-4 cloves fresh garlic

The preparation isn’t complicated.  Begin combining the ingredients for this to-die-for marinade.

Dijon Mustard…

~

Whole-grain mustard.  (This did something amazing to the pan juices.  I don’t know what… I just know I could dip everything I ever eat from now on into those juices.)

~

Then some honey!

~

Next, mince up the garlic and toss it in as well!

(Note: I probably would have use more than this… but my whole-grain mustard had garlic in it.  It was the right amount for me, but if you like it and your mustard is normal, add more.)

~

Next it’s time to grab some of that fresh rosemary and chop it up.

Why oh WHY didn’t my rosemary seeds grow this year?  They ended up being so totally lame I can’t even think about it.  I shouldn’t have had to buy this rosemary… that’s just that.

~

~

Now, toss it in with the other ingredients and stir to combine.

Mmmmmm.  It some-kind-of-messed-up that my mouth is actually watering at this sight.  I mean, for cryin’ out loud, its a bowl of mustard!  But I’m remembering what it did to this pork and I just can’t help wishing I were eating it right now.

~

Now then…

Preheat your oven to 350, and set your pork roast in a baking dish.

If you’re using a piece of meat this size, I think I’d recommend something a little smaller than a 9X13.  But if you don’t have anything just a little smaller, then a 9X13 would be my second choice.

The juices were just SO divine that I think a dish just slightly smaller than this would’ve put them to better use.  🙂

~

Moving on…

Start slathering the meat with a generous coating of the mustard/honey/rosemary mixture.  It’ll get pretty gloppy here… so just embrace it.

~

Easier said than done.  Yours-truly was NOT embracing the gloppyness.  I don’t do well with gloppy.

~

So embrace it… or don’t.  You’ll forget all about it later anyway.

~

Once it’s coated, start peeling strips of bacon out of the package and laying them onto the pork roast (covering the sides as well as the top.)  You can do this lengthwise like I did… or try it crosswise.  I don’t see why it would make a difference.  Really, mine’s neither because its diagonal.

Roasted pork has gotten a bad rap for being dry.  Don’t be skimpy with this bacon… the pork doesn’t have much fat at ALL, so it’s needed!

~

Make sure the strips overlap each other.

~

And secure them to the pork using toothpicks or kitchen twine.

I went the toothpick route!  (A great choice… just remove them before serving or someone’s getting a not-fun surprise!)

~

Rotate the pork roast all the way around and cover with bacon to seal in maximum moisture and flavor!  Keep securing with toothpicks as needed.

~

~

When you’ve coated, covered, and toothpicked the whole dang thing from all sides… it should look like this.  All gloppy and glorious and ready to roast.

AGAIN my mouth is watering!!!

Over RAW meat!

Am I crazy?  Was I a lion in another life?  This is not normal for me.

~

Place the pork roast into the oven (UNcovered) and leave it there for 1 hour.

~

When that hour is up… take it out and cover it loosely in foil and put it back in the oven for another 15 minutes!

~

A few CRUCIAL tips for serving:

1) Remove the pork from the oven and let it rest under the foil 10-15 minutes.  This will allow all the juices to settle back into the meat.

2) Lift the pork onto a cutting board and slice it to your desired thickness.

3) Take a fork or small whisk and, while the pork is still on a separate cutting board, lightly beat together the juices in the baking dish.  The rosemary mustard will have reduced to a dark brown, incredibly rich jus, and there’ll be a little bacon fat that definitely must get mixed in as well.

4) Add the pork slices back into the pan so they can soak up the juices.

5) Serve and partake in wonder.  This will defy all reason known to your mouth.

~

Credits for this recipe go to Giada de Laurentis.  I found her original recipe on foodnetwork.com.   And like I said.  I’m done looking!

Enjoy friends!

And make this for company because A) It’s easy and 2) You’ll look like a kitchen super-genius.

-Carissa

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Emily Cheatham permalink
    October 16, 2010 10:57 pm

    You sold me, Carissa. I’m definitely going to try this recipe. It really looks amazing.

  2. October 18, 2010 9:17 pm

    Can’t wait to try it!!! Love ya girl!

  3. dad permalink
    October 25, 2010 10:23 pm

    As my good friend, Kramer, once said…”you don’t sell the steak, you sell the sizzle!” Have to admit the opening photo got me here. I would definitely eat this! (You probably hear most posts say they’ll ‘make this’. But hey, you’re not surprised, right?) Love that you love this, hon. See you next week – daddy

  4. Aunt Carolyn permalink
    December 8, 2010 4:04 am

    Wow, LOVED the pics and your hilarious comments! It’s late at night, and I’m laughing! And yes, THANK YOU for this glorious recipie. This will DEFINITELY be our Christmas dinner! Looking forward to seeing you and everyone at Drew and Kellie’s wedding in January. Heard about your special Christmas plans with your fam at Cedar Lodge – fun! Love you.

Trackbacks

  1. Chris’s Favorite Ways to Eat Salmon: Blackened and Mustard Roasted « Pretty / Hungry
  2. Chris’s Favorite Ways to Eat Salmon: Blackened and Mustard Roasted |

Share Your Thoughts...

