Skip to content

The Making of the Pencil Cake: Part Four- It is finished.

January 15, 2011

Well, we’ve arrived at the night before my cousin’s wedding and I’m super relieved to say that the groom’s cake is done and it looks great!  For a little background on why this particular shape was chosen… let me explain to you that my cousin is NEVER without a mechanical pencil tucked behind his ear.  It’s always there and probably always will be.  So the choice for this cake to look like a pencil was the only natural thing to do!  Haha.

~

As with any 3D cake, its no small task.  There’s baking, rolling, carving & sculpting, filling, and coating involved.  And at times the detail work can get pretty nit-picky.  (Just ask my sister, my lovely cousin Betsy, and my brother’s wonderful girlfriend Kelly… they had to sit through my last-minute painstakingly detailed final touches tonight.)  They also helped me move the cake… as did my smart and resourceful father (who just happened to have a razor blade in hi truck.  So all we had to do was lift the parchment paper onto the white tray and cut it away with the razor blade leaving a clean, virtually invisible edge.  So YAY for teamwork!)

~

Alright… ya ready to see it???

The process really is quite interesting when I look back at it…

I pulled out all the baked cakes to get started.

~

~Then just began chopping and chopping and chopping.  Multiple pounds of chocolate went into this cake 🙂

~

~I used an extra special ingredient in the ganache… a gift from my brother for Christmas!  Real vanilla bean!

~

~I had the idea to hollow out the pencil tip so it wouldn’t be heavy and sag downward.  It ended up being a bad idea because it caused the pencil tip the be really bendy and not supported…  You’ll see how I solved that problem in a minute.

~

~This is all the vanilla you get from one bean.  Crazy!  But it goes a long way.

~

~Here’s the two mint cakes, cut and tooth-picked together to create the framework of the pencil.

~

~Here’s how I attached the pencil tip.  First by putting lots of toothpicks into the big cake…

~

~Then by smoothing melted chocolate onto it as “glue.”  (Keep in mind, this is not ganache.  It’s straight melted chocolate… which dries much harder than ganache.)

~

~Here’s the ganache.  I added blue food coloring to darken it.

~

~Then I carefully coated the whole thing!   It ended up developing cracks overnight (which I had to fix with melted chocolate and a tiny piping tip.)

~

~And here’s how I added support back to the pencil tip (with less weight)… marshmallows!  Sealed in with chocolate.

~

~I tooth-picked this as well…

~

~And took a deep breath… and stuck it on… supporting it temporarily with a whisk handle.

~

~So here it is… basic bare bones.  If you’d been here you’d have gone crazy by the time I got to this point… I was moving VERY slowly.

~

~Here’s how it stood last night.   Then my husband came home…

and noticed something…

Do you see it?

The clip’s on the wrong side.

I’m a bimbo sometimes.  In my mind’s eye, I could’ve sworn the clip belonged on the tip side.  But it doesn’t.

~

~Here are a few of the back-up cakes… These are the ones with the chocolate filling.

~

~And here was the rough plan for how we would solve the problem.  (I had already written “Drew and Kellie” on it so I couldn’t just reverse it… and I didn’t want to move it to the other side because the ganache wasn’t as smooth over there.  SO… I had to trim and touch-up later.)

~

~And tonight….  da da da daaaaaaaaaaaaaa!   I did finishing touches on all the edges with a piping bag.  I filled in a few of the cracks that had formed in the ganache.   I moved the cake (with many helpers) onto the white board, and I fixed the clip!

~

~

~

~

~

I’m very happy with it!!

But I’m also very tired of chopping chocolate (at least for a little while.)

Now it just has to survive the car ride.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2011 3:22 pm

    that’s amazing, congrats on finishing! I’m sure they’ll love it 🙂

  2. whitney permalink
    January 15, 2011 3:31 pm

    A great finished product!! Good job!

  3. January 31, 2011 8:14 pm

    It looks awesome Carissa! What an amazing job!!! I’m so impressed. I know you put in a TON of work for that cake and it definitely paid off.

Share Your Thoughts...

