Skip to content

Hummus: Healthy & Super Addictive!

January 16, 2011

You may have noticed… it’s January.

And in our household (as in many others) January is filled with good intentions 🙂  At a time in my life when I was much more disciplined… I’d looked at the people who made New Year’s resolutions and think, “What a bunch of suckers!”  (I was probably being bitter and slightly arrogant because January would hit and suddenly I couldn’t get a machine at the gym.)  But I’d console myself by saying, “They’ll keep it up maybe a month and then this place will empty out again.”

HA!  And now I find myself right in the boat with the resolutors… (resolutionsists?)  I haven’t worked out since Thanksgiving and lets just say I’ve “splurged” on more than a few cookies and pieces of fudge!

But now it’s time to reign it back in.  Both my husband and I have tucked away the Reeses Pieces and finished off the last of the frozen pizzas.  We’re cooking lean proteins, lots of green veggies, hearty soups, fewer carbs, extra fiber… you get the idea.

So here’s a healthy snack we’re really loving at the moment!  (I eat it with Wasa Crisps… an awesomely crunchy and healthful flatbread-type cracker.)  It’s hummus!

~

And the best part about it is… its SOOOO easy!  And SOOOO delicious!

You do need one slightly unusual ingredient, Tahini.  Its made from ground sesame seeds, and boy is it good!  I found mine on sale for only $5.99 at Whole Foods, and considering how much hummus it’ll make me (and the fact that it’ll last quite a while in the fridge) I’m happy to pay that much or more!  So let’s make hummus 🙂

You’ll need:

-1/4 C. Tahini paste     -1 whole can garbanzo beans     -1/4 C. olive oil

-a few tablespoons of water     -1 clove garlic     -salt & pepper     -the juice of 1/2 lemon

~

First things first… dump the can of garbanzo beans (aka: chickpeas) and the clove of garlic into a food processor and pulse a few times to break them down.

~

Next, squeeze in some fresh lemon juice.  Watch for seeds!

~

Add in the tahini…

~

Pulse the food processor a few more times to blend in the tahini, then finally… add the olive oil, salt, and pepper.  (The salt and pepper are both to taste but I recommend a heaping half-teaspoon of each.)

Note:  If after these additions you still want a thinner, creamier texture, add water a few tablespoons at a time and blend well.  I used 3 or 4.

~

And that’s all there is to it!  Feel free to sprinkle it with a little extra pepper or olive oil.  Or even a little Parmesan cheese.  YUM!

~

This snack is just TOO good!  I like to take it to work in a little tupperwear and whip it out at my desk.

~

It’s also great as a snack for Sunday afternoon football or a weeknight movie!  Especially with a little wine (unless you’re my husband and trying to steer clear of extra sugars.)  Gotta get the figure back 🙂

~

Hummus has tons of protein and fiber (so it’s filling)… as well as healthy fats from the olive oil and tahini.  I’m not saying you can eat a whole cup with a spoon.  But I am saying this snack will do you all sorts of good.

~

Make it this week!

 

 

Share Your Thoughts...

