Skip to content

Faincy Cake! (Aka: A decorated cake for MaryLou’s birthday)

February 28, 2011

I’m sort-of obsessed with cake decorating.  I love it!  I love seeing what its possible to create using cake and frosting… and then going and doing it!

~

I’m not what you could call a “jack of all trades” though.  I don’t like fondant… so I don’t work with fondant.  I don’t make darling little cut-outs of people or hearts or flowers.  And the reason for that is very simple:

I have no interest in eating (or feeding anybody) something that looks and tastes like play-doh.

Case closed.

SO… if you’re lookin’ for someone to make you a fondant cake, look elsewhere 🙂  I’ll stick with buttercream.

And ganache.  (Actually in this picture, ganache is the filling.)

And of course, lots of straight-up chocolate (which is what I’ll be showing you this fine evening.)  Mmmmmmmmmmmmm.  It’s how I roll.

I decided to make a cake for my beloved friend at work, MaryLou.  I’m not sure how old she is… and I won’t be asking.  But one thing I do know is that MaryLous LOVES chocolate!  She’s always offering it to me, and of course I gratefully accept.  (Thank goodness I have MaryLou to sneak me chocolate at work because I sure ain’t getting any at home with my husband on a dang diet.)

But aside from buying me Hershey’s with Almonds, MaryLou always treats me with such friendliness and respect.  She is one of my FAVORITE people to work with, hands down.  So tomorrow we’ll be feasting on cake in her honor!

When it comes to chocolate cake, I never stray from my favorite recipe: Beatty’s Chocolate Cake.  But the icing from this recipe is NOT my favorite so I almost always make my own or used canned.

~

(If my basket-weaving on the side looks chunky to you… I’ll have to beg your pardon.  I did something very stupid and it resulted in chunky buttercream.)

(If my basket-weaving doesn’t look chunky to you… then ignore the comment above… and thanks!)

~

Now lettering on a cake can be pretty intimidating… but let me let you in on my little secret:

Chocolate!

SO much easier.

I squirted these babies out in about thirty seconds flat yesterday!  All you need is a pastry bag and a small circle tip (like a #2.)

~

And what’s great about using chocolate is that you don’t have to stress over placement.  You can have as many tries as you need because you do it separately on wax paper and once it has hardened, you peel it off and stick it on your cake!

See?  It’s pretty easy to handle.

~

And if it breaks?  No problem!  The untrained eye will never spot it!

(You, however, might be able to spot a break in the picture below… being the trained eye that you are.)

~

So, the moral of this story is that you should really give fancy-cake-decorating a try sometime.  Practice a bit at first on a paper plate and then go to town!  Create a masterpiece and serve it with pride!

I know MaryLou would love this cake no matter what it looked like, because that’s the kinda sweetheart she is.  But I also know she’s going to love all the special touches 🙂  And she’s reeeeally going to love all the chocolate.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 9, 2011 7:45 pm

    It’s beautiful Carissa- and what a nice thing to do for your co-worker!!

Share Your Thoughts...

