Skip to content

Key Lime Cheesecake

May 1, 2011

~

Raise your hand if you’re a cheesecake fan.

My brother Harrison’s hand would be through the roof at this moment (if he were reading this.)

Here he is with his lovely new fiance, by the way.  Aren’t they just the cutest?  You can tell he’s quite a goofball… but you can also tell that he LOVES this girl!

He also LOVES his cheesecake!  In fact, I will very likely have to make him one as an engagement gift very soon.  He’s a classic kinda guy though… he won’t touch it unless it’s plain ol’ New York Style cheesecake, dense and served cold, with a drizzle of strawberry sauce.

Me?  Not so much.

I’ve never been the “gotta have it” type when it comes to cheesecake.  Most of the time I take one bite and I’m done… its just so rich!  Almost chokingly, cloyingly so.

Anybody out there like me?  You can take cheesecake or leave it?

Or am I the only one?

I’m the only one, aren’t I?  Darn it.

~

But wonder of wonders… last week I tasted a cheesecake that I just gobbled right up!  And do you know what made the difference?  Key lime!

It cut right through that rich, solid-block-of-cream-cheese-feeling I usually get from cheesecake and really transformed the entire dessert genre for me.  Instead of noticing the heaviness I usually associate with cheesecake, I found it to be creamy and tangy and completely luscious!  Citrus is the perfect way to round out a cheesecake if you ask me.

~

So although there were many magical-sounding suggestions sent my way (ALL of which I’ll be blogging about at some point in the future… mark my words, there is salmon on the horizon) today it just had to be cheesecake.  Big thanks to Gina for the idea 🙂  Not just any cheesecake though.  It had to be that cheesecake.  In case you live in the Searcy, Arkansas area of the country… the inspirational cheesecake came from The Key Lime Cottage.  Go pay em’ a visit!

~

The recipe I chose to work from today comes from Ms. PCrocker, who so graciously posted this delight on Food.com.  I was looking for a few certain things in a recipe… and this one had them all!

First off, I wanted to use an 8-inch pan.  Bada bing!  This one did.

Second, I didn’t want to use any key lime flavored gelatin or green food coloring.  Check. Check.

Third, I wanted a good “butter to crumbs” ratio for the crust.  I get so annoyed when a recipe tells you to melt 2 tablespoons of butter into 2 cups of graham cracker crumbs, and then expects you to make that into a crust!  That, my friend, is ludicrous.  This recipe called for 5 T. butter and 1 3/4 C. crumbs.  Perfecto!

Fourth and finally, I didn’t want fluffy.  Cheesecake is supposed to be dense and creamy, not airy.  (Well, at least that’s my preference.)  So that ruled out anything containing beaten eggwhites, or ten minutes of stiff whisking, or too many eggs period.

You’d be surprised just how many recipes out there are trying to turn cheesecake into some kind of cheese-mousse.  And I’m not a fan!

~

So let’s  get started.

Step One needs to be done HOURS ahead of time.  Set out three packages of cream cheese and three eggs, so that they’re completely room temperature when you’re ready to make the cheesecake.  I left these out the night before and made the cake in the morning.

~

When you’re ready to start… grab some key limes.  You can totally buy key lime juice in a can at the grocery store, did you know that?  I encourage it, in fact.  But this recipe was so SIMPLE that I felt the compulsion to make it more high-maintenance.  I’m weird like that.

If you choose to go the key limes route rather than the canned juice route, roll them under the heel of your hand first so the juice’ll come out easier.

~

Then just start slicing them in half and squeezing the life out of them!

~

Don’t worry about the seeds just yet.  It’ll just slow you down.

We’ll strain those out later.

Just keep squeezin’.

(Note that key lime juice is NOT bright chartreuse green as some popular food manufacturers would lead you to believe.  Hence my aversion to recipes that use key lime gelatin or green food coloring.)

~

Make sure your pretty little pile of remains finds its way to a compost pile!

~

You’ll need about 6 tablespoons of this stuff.  (But a few drops more won’t hurt.  I like things really limey!)

Find a fine mesh strainer of you have one, and pour the juice through it into a bowl to get rid of the seeds.  Then just set the juice aside.  Also, preheat your oven to 350.

~

Next grab a food processor and some vanilla wafers or graham crackers.  I used vanilla wafers this time, but I think I’ll do grahams next time.  Nothing can touch em’ when it comes to cheesecake crust.

Throw a handfull of the cookies into the food processor…

~

And pulse until they’re broken down into nice crumbs.

~

Dump them into a bowl, and then melt 5 T. butter in the microwave.

Pour in the butter…

~

And stir until the mixture clumps together and all the crumbs are moistened.

~

Then press the crumbs into the bottom and halfway up the sides of an 8-inch spring-form pan.

~

~

Gorgeous!  Nothin’ to it!

Put the crust into the 350 oven and let it crisp up for five minutes.

In the meantime, let’s start on the filling.

Throw your (completely softened) cream cheeses into a mixing bowl.  Add a cup of sugar.  Then beat with an electric mixer until its smooth.  (Remember, the name of the game here is “non-fluffy” so be sparing with the beaters.  Use a rubber spatula often to scrape down the sides of the bowl, and when the ingredients are combined… stop mixing!)

~

Add 1 teaspoon of vanilla to the smooth cream cheese mixture…

~

Then add the key lime juice…

~

Then mix again until the liquids are incorporated.  Again, beat with the mixer only as much as you need to… and use the rubber spatula to minimize the need for the beaters.

Next, crack three eggs into a measuring cup and lightly beat them with a fork.  (Pre-beating them helps you avoid over-beating the cake filling when you add them.)

~

Gradually add the eggs to the cake filling, beating as you go, and scraping down the sides until the mixture is smooth and creamy and homogeneous.  (Sorry, had to sneak that word in there.  My husband uses it constantly.)

(You’ll notice that at this point I also scraped in half of a vanilla bean.  I couldn’t help myself!  My make-it-more-difficult compulsion strikes again!)

~

Lastly, spoon in two tablespoons of sour cream and gently mix it into the filling.

 Yum, yum, YUM.  Go ahead and stick that spoon in your mouth when you’re done.

~

The next step is very important.  (To me, anyway.)

Place a nice cushy towel underneath the mixing bowl, then lift and drop it repeatedly onto the countertop from a few inches up.  This releases air bubbles in the filling and causes them to float to the surface so they won’t get stuck in the middle of the cake.  Again, this adds to the dense-ness factor I’m shooting for.

See all those bubbles popped at the surface?  That’s a good sign.

~

Now just gently pour the mixture over your crust.

~

~

And smooth it nicely with a spatula.

Lovely!

~

Now, find some aluminum foil and rip off a big sheet.  Set your pan onto the sheet and fold the foil around it to create a little jacket.  We’re going to cook this cheesecake in a water bath and we don’t want any water to seep in uninvited so the foil will prevent that.

~

Then find a larger baking dish and place the foil-lined pan inside.

~

Pour water into the outer pan until it reaches about halfway up the dish.

The water serves two purposes.  For one thing, it helps the cheesecake mixture to cook evenly.  For another, it keeps the oven air moist which prevents cracking on the surface of the cheesecake.  It works like a charm every time!

~

Great!

Now just place this interesting little balancing-act into the oven on the center rack, close the door, and set the timer for 44 minutes.  We’re still at 350 by the way.

Amuse yourself for 45 minutes however you wish.

And when the time is up, turn off the oven, prop open the door about four inches, and leave the cheesecake inside undisturbed for 30 minutes.  (The center will still be a little wobbly at first but it continues to set as the cake cools.)  By allowing the cheesecake to cool gradually by leaving it in the oven, you again prevent cracking in the surface.

~

After the thirty minutes are up… pull the cake from the oven and allow it to cool fully on a wire rack for over an hour.

~

You can see how the lovely smooth surface has not so much as one crack!  And it’s flecked with real vanilla.  Ahhh, delicious.

~

Finally, and this is a big finally, let the cheesecake chill in the fridge for several hours.  It only gets better with time.

That means its best to make this the day before the event you’re making it for.  Which means you’re setting out the cream cheese like 72 hours in advance of the event you’re making it for… which is a little mind-blowing really.  But make it anyway.  Its SO worth it!

~

After several hours in the fridge, take a knife with a thin, flexible blade, and run it gently around the edges to loosen the cheesecake from the pan.

Then loosen the clamp on the side to expand the walls of the pan and free the cheesecake within. You won’t be able to pull the pan up and over the cheesecake, so the best way to get it out is to slide the cake off the edge of the table (placing a hand underneath it) and pull the pan walls downward pushing the cake up through them.

~

And voila!  The most perfect cheesecake I’ve ever made OR eaten!  It was melt-in-your-mouth creamy and a perfect balance of tastes.

~

You can make it too!  And believe me, you want to.  I’ll definitely be diving back into this baby for a late-night snack.

Oh and one more thing…

I’m not big on over-the-top embellishments for cheesecakes.  I prefer a simple garnish that lets you know what is in the dessert.  So for this one, I just sliced a few rings of key lime and placed them in the middle.

~

And here’s the link to the printable: http://www.food.com/recipe/key-lime-cheesecake-95113

Happy baking!

~Carissa

.

.

.

You might also like:

Chocolate Souffle                                                    Pear and Dried Cherry Clafouti

25 Comments leave one →
  1. mrs adeel permalink
    May 2, 2011 7:21 am

    lovely…. nicely explained as well.

    • May 9, 2017 2:08 am

      LaBeouf was okay. He’s just not a “real actor” IMHO – he’s just some punk kid who got really lucky in the bizz. I think he wants to be the next DiCaprio – but he just doe;#&n8217st have the innate talent or the gravitas. He would probably do okay as a character actor if he went back to school and learned a few things.

  2. May 2, 2011 8:44 am

    Excellent – was looking for a lime cheesecake recipe similar to Dorie’s tall and creamy cheesecake but was unsure of how to tamper with the ratios with all the lime juice. I have to say I like mine really fluffy though >.< Totally with you on the base though – it needs enough butter!!

    Thanks for this!

    • May 2, 2011 1:50 pm

      You can beat it like crazy to fluff it up then, and eliminate the dropping it on the counter step 🙂 Enjoy!

      • May 3, 2011 11:44 am

        Damn, not sure went wrong but my mixture separated when I added the lime juice (a mixture of fresh and store bought 100% squeezed pasteurized), and would not come together at all. I baked it anyway but the result was pretty awful. So confused, as this is obviously not a problem with the recipe >.< Not sure if beating is a good idea actually. Or maybe it was the fact that I added lime zest? Don't think so…sigh. So depressed now 😦 Will stick to the recipe properly next time!

        • May 3, 2011 2:21 pm

          I’ll bet it was the zest. I added lemon zest to a buttercream frosting once and it looked really curdle-y in the end. Did it separate after you added the zest or the juice? Weird!

        • May 9, 2017 1:37 am

          The picture of BHO on Air Force 1 with the Prinedestial seal really symbolizes how much he has lowered the dignity of the office. Who knows if anyone can raise it back up again?

  3. Stephanie permalink
    May 2, 2011 11:55 pm

    This looks great. Just wanted to let you and your readers know if you are planning to visit key lime cottage in Searcy do it soon!! They just sold it to Sassy Sweets. They are only there until may 31st.
    Then on June 1st check out sassy sweets and there awesome cakes, cupcakes and cookies.

    • May 3, 2011 12:14 am

      Oh sad! I was really rooting for the Key Lime Cottage to make it for the long haul. Small businesses like that just have a lot of hurdles to jump!

  4. May 6, 2011 8:50 pm

    I am waving both hands in the air – girl do I love a great cheesecake! This key lime recipe sounds awesome 🙂

  5. May 9, 2011 6:41 pm

    That’s the most beautiful cheesecake I’ve ever seen! It’s absolutely perfect. Your brother is a lucky guy.

    • May 9, 2011 6:54 pm

      Thank you Nicole! I was suprised myself at how well it turned out 🙂 My brother didn’t get any of this one though. He’ll get a plain one for his engagement party… but yes he is a lucky guy for finding such a sweet future wife!

      • May 9, 2017 3:08 am

        absolument ! c'est une bible ! c'est la référence sur l&s9;3hi#toire de la ville. Il faut aussi lire et utiliser le très beau guide de Royan des années cinquante par Antoine-Marie Préaut.

  6. May 9, 2011 11:00 pm

    Oh my hand went through the roof too! You make it look so easy. My cheesecakes always crack. Oh well, they generally still taste good.

    Congrats on the engagement too!

    • May 9, 2011 11:11 pm

      If they crack… I just throw some syrupy strawberries over the top and no one can tell. Problem solved! Haha.

      Thanks for stopping by Christie… I enjoy your lovely blog! Why is it even after I’m married I could still spend hours on weddinggawker just looking at all the amazing things people do at their weddings? So fun!

  7. Paige permalink
    July 17, 2011 8:05 am

    How much cream cheese do you add? Where I live you get them in container about 1 1/2 inches tall. I’m not sure how much add. Oh great recipe by the way! 🙂

    • July 17, 2011 8:25 pm

      You use 24 oz. of cream cheese (which will probably end up being either 3 or 4 of those 1 1/2 inch containers.) Enjoy!!

  8. April permalink
    November 7, 2011 9:58 pm

    This was amazing!!!

  9. December 24, 2011 2:09 am

    i just made this key lime cheesecake and it came out exactly as you describe…the only thing is….i must have a bigger springform pan than yours as the filling should have been higher in the pan. Anyway….it will be good anyway as I snuck a tast of the cheesecake off the side of the springform……yummo. Thanks for the great instructions….very useful. Question: how could increase the ingredients to yield more ? Thanks, Janet

    • December 26, 2011 4:26 am

      Oooh Janet, that’s a toughie. I used my 8-in springform pan, but if all you have is a 10-in I would experiment with a 1.5x recipe first. (Add 1/2 the amount of each ingredient to the called-for amount… ex. 9 tablespoons of key lime juice, 4.5 packages of cream cheese, etc.)

      Glad you enjoyed the cheesecake! It’s such a treat!

      • janet gagnon permalink
        December 26, 2011 5:01 am

        I will do that next time….thanks ! One more comment……the cheesecake is wonderful and received rave reviews 🙂 The texture was perfect and the taste was perfect also. This year I made a mango cheesecake, strawberry cheesecake , pumpkin cheesecake and now the key lime…..which rose to the top of the list as the most favorite.

        Happy New Year! Janet

  10. Tim permalink
    January 5, 2012 3:00 pm

    Just a note concerning Key Lime Juice. Be sure that it says “key lime juice” and not Key West Lime Juice. The later is NOT key lime juice! There is NO comparison!

  11. February 16, 2012 5:07 pm

    I have been planning on making a key lime cheesecake this weekend and creating my own recipe. Yours looks great!

  12. ashley permalink
    October 29, 2012 9:29 pm

    How do make key lime cake always want to learn to make

Trackbacks

  1. Five things I’ve made (and LOVED) this week! « Pretty / Hungry

Share Your Thoughts...

