Skip to content

Wedding Cupcakes!

June 14, 2011

I think cupcakes are perfect for every occasion!

Especially a wedding!

Don’t get me wrong… I’m just as awed and inspired by a towering wedding cake as the next person.  But if I am making a dessert for a wedding, I’ll vote cupcakes everytime.  They’re easier to transport, less intimidating to assemble (ever tried to put dowel rods into a five tier cake?), and WAY easier to decorate because they have less surface area.

~

Remember these two crazy cats?

They’re my brother and future sister-in-law…

And they have asked me to make their wedding cupcakes!  What an honor!

~

I will be baking white cupcakes to represent the bride’s cake… and our cousin Kelly (who is an amazing cook and baker and even made her own wedding cake) is making chocolate cupcakes to represent the groom’s cake.  It’s going to be spectactular.

Here are the samples I made yesterday.

~

I thought it might be nice to do a mixture of cupcake toppers… rather than all of one kind.

My first idea was to do an iced cupcake, dipped in sugar and topped with a small white flower.  I really like how that turned out.  And isn’t the sugar a pretty touch?  It’s organic sugar so it’s just slightly ivory colored.

~

My second idea was to also have rose cupcakes placed throughout the display.  I just think they look so elegant!

~

I’m debating whether or not to do a third cupcake design: an iced, sugar-dipped cupcake with a white pattern piped over it (perhaps dots or a vine pattern)… your thoughts?

And the best part about these cupcakes is they are delicious!

Here’s the recipe I used.  (This recipe is a cake… so when I use it for cupcakes I bake them at 325 for about 22-24 minutes.)  Enjoy!

~Carissa

.

.

.

You may also like…

To-Die-For Chocolate Cupcakes                              Family Heirloom Italian Cream Cake

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2011 11:44 pm

    The wedding cupcakes are lovely! I really like this idea too and cupcakes for weddings are really becoming more popular! Yours look elegant!

  2. September 2, 2011 5:52 pm

    Loving the rose cupcake and great to make your acquaintance!

  3. December 13, 2011 7:23 pm

    Those cupcakes are gorgeous Carissa!! I like the idea of a third design but the two you have are awesome too! You’re so talented!

  4. jacque permalink
    December 13, 2011 10:37 pm

    They will be special no matter what you do. The pictures you posted are beautiful, you are so talented.I hate we will not be able to be there for the big event and to see eveyone,but you all will be in our thoughts and prayers. we love you

  5. Katherine Lunny permalink
    September 22, 2012 3:42 am

    Those cupcakes are amazing! But I’m a fan of things coming in threes, and I love the idea of piping swirls/cornelli lace onto the cupcakes 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. 7 Holiday Must-Makes! « Pretty / Hungry
  2. Wedding Cupcakes
  3. 7 Holiday Must-Makes! |
  4. 7 Holiday Must-Makes! - Pretty Hungry

Share Your Thoughts...

