Skip to content

A Harvest of Blessings

July 12, 2011

This year for my birthday, my sweet sister-in-law-to-be gave me a lovely sign to stick in my garden.  It reads, “And when the time is right, we will reap a harvest of blessings.  Galations 6:9.”  And what a lovely and fitting gift it was!

Indeed I have reaped quite a harvest this season!  Thanks to dozens of helpful articles, a few green-thumbed friends & family members, of course the ever-helpful Pioneer Woman (and Hello! The One who holds this whole earth together, changes the seasons, and can turn a seed into a tree…) I’ve really been feasting this summer!

My favorite thing to do is tiptoe out across the grass each morning to check on my ripening tomatoes.

(These are Brandywines… and I highly recommend this hearty and prolific heriloom variety.

It has produced luscious tomatoes for me so far… and plenty of them!)

~

I’m also keeping my eye on this big, juicy wonder at the moment.  It’s the only tomato on this entire plant… but it’ll be worth it!

(This is a Rainbow Heirloom plant… I ordered the seeds from Burpee.)

~

Aside from tomatoes, I’ve been enjoying tons of tasty zuchinni…

~

And the absolute creamiest potatoes on earth.  YUM… I’ve enjoyed these!

~

And today… I got a really nice surprise!  The first decent carrots of the season.  (These required a lot more patience from me and the first few I dug up were smaller than my pinky finger.)  But aren’t they gorgeous!?!  I can’t wait to roast these to sweet perfection.

~

I hope all you gardeners out there are enjoying the bounty of the season as much as I am!  It’s certainly a fun miracle to take part in 🙂

~Carissa

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2011 5:45 pm

    I am growing brandywines too- they are delicous!

    You most definitely have a green thumb!

  2. July 23, 2011 2:46 pm

    You are truly blessed with a lovely and prolific garden! I hope you thoroughly enjoy the fruits of your labor. No pun intended!

Share Your Thoughts...

