Skip to content

A Very “Revealing” Dessert!

September 25, 2011

One word to describe this dessert:

FUN.

Eleven words to describe this dessert:

The most fun I’ve ever had making a dessert… probably EVER!

~

These are “gender reveal” cupcakes!!

~

I was asked by the amazing and lovely Jennifer and her wonderful husband Jarred to create a very special dessert to reveal the gender of their first baby to their friends and family.  (Oh, and to THEM as well!  That’s right, it was a total surprise.  Chris and I were the only ones who knew ahead of time.)

Right after her 20-week ultrasound, Jennifer drove straight to my office with an envelope containing the big news!  She left it with me and exercised incredible patience all the way up til cupcake time. (Which, if you can believe it, was over a week later!)

~

All the party guests got to give name suggestions… (You have Chris to thank for Jeremetria and Jeremetrius.  And he has Will Ferrell to thank. :))

~

And everybody wore either pink or blue to represent their guess: boy or girl!

~

The excitement of this event was just awesome!  Many prayers have been prayed for this child.

~

So….

Are you ready to find out what they’re having??

~

Its….

.

.

.

.

.

A….

.

.

.

.

.

GIRL!!!!!!!!!!!!

~

Each cupcake was filled with a yummy pink center.   Everyone took a bite at the same time and then, of course, the tears, smiles, and squeals ensued.

Let me show you how I made them 🙂

I found surprisingly few ideas online when it came to the outside of these cupcakes.  I kept coming across the same two or three blog posts over and over.  I guess the gender reveal party is still a relatively new concept.  But when I saw these little pink and blue favors at Party City, I thought they were  just adorable!

~

First off… I baked a batch of vanilla cupcakes, using this recipe.  Bake at 350 for 20-22 minutes.

Next, take a small, thin knife and cut a small cone-shaped hole out of each cupcake.  Don’t let the knife poke through the bottom!  (It could spoil the surprise.)

~

Next, for the filling, I used some cream cheese icing and mixed in fruit jam.  Strawberry or raspberry work well for a girl, blueberry is good for a boy.  Add in a few good squirts of gel food coloring to amplify the color.

~

Now just cap each cupcake off with the cut-out piece of cake.  Press it down lightly.

~

I sealed each cupcake top with a thin layer of icing next… to assure that no pink could poke through the decorative icing layer.

~

Then I swirled on a thicker layer of icing and added decorations!  Try this icing recipe sometime… white chocolate buttercream!  It’s a great go-to if you want something simple and delicious.  For these cupcakes, I did not add the lemon zest to the icing.

~

Here’s a close-up of the “girlie” toppers.

~

And here we have the sweet little boy toppers:

~

Gender reveal cupcakes are a super fun way to find out the sex of your baby… and what a great reason to get together for a party!  I’m a big fan of this up-and-coming trend.  The real chore is going to be convincing my husband to have a party of our own when the time comes.  He has very emphatically told me that he will be finding out the gender of any future children the day of the ultrasound.  Party-pooper.

~

I couldn’t be happier for the Crows as they anxiously await their sweet new daughter.  Thanks to God for the miracle he’s daily knitting together in Jennifer’s womb.  The detail of his artist hand is truly amazing… down to the chromosomal level he forms us 🙂

I was woven together by you

Secretly being formed.

All my days were counted by you

Before I was even born.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. Shawna Johnsen permalink
    September 25, 2011 6:16 pm

    So cute! I’ve been looking up gender reveal party ideas, for the day I have another…..what a blessing to help make the celebration so fun!

    • September 26, 2011 12:55 am

      Oh you have, have you?? Do we think that day will be soon? 😉

      • Shawna permalink
        December 4, 2012 12:07 am

        hahaha, I wish! You’ve had one since this comment!!! 😀

        • May 9, 2017 8:54 am

          There isnt much worse than an adult abusing their position of trust and sexually molesting children.True, but if you replace “sexually moti2leng&#8s21; with “happily lying to,” then this would be you, Harley. And since you are a salesman who is dishonest in your sales, then you are the snakeoil salesman.

  2. September 25, 2011 6:19 pm

    Such a fun idea! I love it 🙂

  3. September 25, 2011 6:55 pm

    Wow what a cute idea!

  4. September 25, 2011 8:28 pm

    What a sweet idea! I would love to try this out for another type of surprise party. Loooove it! Thanks so much for sharing.

    • September 26, 2011 12:57 am

      Oooh, I’d be excited to hear what other variations of this idea you come up with!! I kept thinking it would’ve been awesome to be able to reveal twins to them and do half pink / half blue… but no such luck 🙂

  5. September 26, 2011 12:21 pm

    This is the absolute cutest thing ever! I love how fun it was and how everyone was just so committed to the surprise! One vote over here for Jeremetria!

    • September 26, 2011 3:30 pm

      Nicole… wouldn’t it be fun to do something like this for your own baby? My husband does NOT share your/my commitment to the surprise 😛

  6. September 28, 2011 4:44 pm

    This is the cutest idea ever! I want to have a baby just so I can make these!

  7. October 10, 2011 4:45 am

    Great post and what a fun party! Hadn’t heard of it and if i were going to have any more…i just might consider it. =)
    So anyways, thanks for stopping by She’s Crafty. The strawberries did well over the winter, i lost half of them but the ones that kept, just grew well and produced this year as well. They do get big but you can trim them back and also, the runners will grow so just train them into the empty holes from the ones you may lose and they’ll grow new roots. It’s been a great border for us and they do still grow!
    Have a great week!

  8. December 5, 2011 4:26 pm

    those are so cute and creative.

  9. December 14, 2011 11:45 pm

    What is the recipe for the filling? I am finding out what we are having TOMORROW and wanted to make these! 🙂

    • May 8, 2017 9:52 pm

      giors · mercoledì, 12 dicembre 2012, 11:57 amL’europa secondo Gad sara’ colpita da&71#82ll;invecchiamento della popolazione.E’ piu’ probabile che la causa sara’ la coglionaggine della sua popolazione.

  10. Lora Ann permalink
    January 23, 2012 9:45 pm

    I stumbled upon your delicious looking blog. I was thinking about doing the same idea for our gender reveal party. I was looking through the recipe, which looks so good I wanted to eat the computer screen btw, I was wondering about how many cupcakes does one batch make?

  11. Lauren Power permalink
    January 5, 2013 4:30 pm

    I found your blog about a week ago when I decided to do a small party with our family to reveal the gender of our first baby. We are so excited! I’m in the middle of baking this morning, and I just wanted to thank you for sharing. This beautiful – and seriously delicious – recipe is the best I’ve found! Today is going to be so special for everyone in our family. Thanks again! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Cravings… « Pretty / Hungry
  2. Cravings… |
  3. Top 10: Gender Reveal Ideas | The Herbal Healing Mama

Share Your Thoughts...

