Skip to content

Pineapple Bread

April 21, 2012

I didn’t wake up today intending to blog about this bread.  (Hence the lack of process shots  you’ll see in the following post.)

However, I couldn’t resist snapping a few quick photos of this yummy bread and sharing the recipe with you on this fine Saturday.  I hope you enjoy…

~

Fruity quick breads are kinda my life right now.  Banana bread, carrot raisin muffins, zucchini bread… it’s my current breakfast of choice.  Maybe it’s a pregnancy thing.  I’m already mourning the fact that I’ll have to give it up for one single solitary Tuesday next week so I can go to the doctor for a glucola test.  (To make sure I don’t have gestational diabetes.)  That’s how into fruity quick breads I am right now.

So combine that with the fact that I have about two gallons of canned “tropical fruit salad” leftover from a work event a few weeks ago… I think you can see the obvious solution I came up with!

Pineapple bread!

 

~

I tried a piece of this the moment it came out of the oven.  It’s a very wholesome, mildly spiced, and mildly sweet bread.  The pineapple adds awesome texture (if you’re into that sorta thing)… and you can add a myriad of other ingredients to suit your fancy (chopped walnuts, carrot shreds, white chocolate chips… mmmm, why didn’t I think of that before?!?)

So if, like me, you find yourself with an abundance of canned pineapple today… OR if you just think this sounds like the kind of breakfast you’d like to join me in this week… here’s how you make it!

P.S. I think it would really send it over the top if you whip up a little cinnamon sugar butter to spread over a warm slice.

~

Pineapple Quick Bread

Ingredients:

2 eggs

3/4 C. sugar

1 tsp. vanilla

1/4 C. melted butter

1/4 C. vegetable oil

3/4 tsp. cinnamon

1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg

2 cups of chopped pineapple (Canned is just fine! But drain the juice if you use canned.)

1-1/2 C. flour (I used mostly white whole wheat flour because it works very well in quick bread recipes!)

1/2 tsp. salt

3/4 tsp. baking soda

3/4 tsp. baking powder

1 packet raw or turbinado sugar (for sprinkling over the top)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350.  Spray a standard-size loaf pan with a little canola spray.

In a small bowl, combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg.

In a larger separate bowl, mix oil, melted butter, eggs, vanilla, and sugar.  Add in chopped pineapple.  Then stir in the flour mixture until just combined.  Pour batter into greased loaf pan, and use a knife or spatula to cut a line into the middle of the surface of the batter (this promotes a nicely domed loaf.)  Sprinkle a packet of raw sugar evenly over the top of the batter.

Bake at 350 for about 55 minutes (cover with foil during the last 15 if crust is browning too quickly.)

~

And that’s it!  It’s a little too easy really.

~

Really there’s nothing better on a Saturday than smelling a fresh loaf of bread baking in the oven.  I couldn’t resist eating a thick slice while it was still warm.

Happy baking!

.

.

.

You may also enjoy…

Banana Bread: Perfected                                                     Homemade Pizza Dough

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 14, 2012 4:46 am

    Nice silver tray – I have a smiliar one. Beautiful looking bread too.

  2. September 17, 2012 2:46 am

    I love love love your cake stand! gorgeous cake too!

  3. Gail permalink
    December 3, 2012 3:47 am

    I am always looking for a way to bring some extra cheer to the holiday season and this Pineapple bread is moist and so flavorful. And really is a nice serving plate too. happy holidays and thank you 🙂 YUMMY !!!!!!! ❤

  4. August 9, 2015 10:21 pm

    Love this quick bread. Thank you. Pineapple is great!

Trackbacks

  1. White Chocolate Raspberry Bread Pudding + a Photo Re-Vamp! « Pretty / Hungry

Share Your Thoughts...

