Skip to content

Let’s Do This.

October 22, 2012

Eleven weeks ago I had a baby.

 

 

And although I have not confirmed this by actually weighing myself (we do not own a scale)… I am fairly certain that I weighed less the day after I had her than I do now.

The reason is simple.  I’ve been having WAY too much fun.

~

Generally speaking, I feel that at the age of 26 I have found a very happy balance in my lifestyle.  I work out regularly and enjoy a wide variety of healthful, high-quality foods.

BUT…

I also enjoy a wide variety of very unhealthy, low-quality foods.  I’m a sucker for Reese’s Pumpkins this time of year.  Those babies are 170 cals a pop and I can eat three without batting an eyelash.  My husband and I have also discovered the joy of ordering pizza from Domino’s and lying on the couch while they do all the work… and at times we abuse this privilege up to 4 times a week.

It’s time for an overhaul… a detox if you will.  I don’t know about you but I like to enjoy my holidays.  And it’s no fun heading into Thanksgiving feeling like your chubby self has gotten a little head-start.  I’d much prefer to be on the svelte side when we pack up and head to Grandma’s a month from now.  (Probably because I know that from then until January 1, it just isn’t gonna happen…  I plan to throw-down along with the rest of chubby America.  Bring on the pie!)

~

So for the next month, we’re eating super clean around here.  I’m not talking juice-fasts or anything off the wall.  (I’m a nursing mother so I need to keep my calories coming in.)  But here’s what I am talking about:

     -Every meal and snack will include vegetables (except maybe breakfast.)

     -NO sweets or desserts.  (And that means nothing squeaking through under the guise of “breakfast” either… like doughnuts, cinnamon rolls, and pancakes.  Get real people!  You may be fooled into thinking “cake” is different than “fried cake doused in syrup,” but your body isn’t, and it will respond accordingly.)

     -I will probably go to bed a bit hungry (Boo!  Probably my least favorite thing about this endeavor.)

     -Fat intake will come from avocado, olive oil, flax seeds, nuts, etc.

     -I will actually set meat out to thaw and cook it for dinner, instead of being lazy and pouring a bowl of cereal.  (Lean protein is super important for good health.  Builds muscle, helps you stay trim, helps you feel full.)

     -Sodas and sugary drinks are (of course) out.  Water, milk, and unsweetened tea & coffee will be the name of the game.

     -I will not buy my favorite candies on Halloween night and then proceed to eat one or two pieces in between every knock of the door.  I will, in fact, abstain from any and all Halloween candy this year.

~

So… care to join me?  Let’s make Oct. 22-Nov. 22 a month where we mean business!  I’m all kinds of motivated!

If you’d like to join me in trimming down before the holidays commence, I’ll be posting some healthy tips and recipes here on Pretty/Hungry anytime I think they might be of use.

~

Today I have two tidbits to share.  The first is a product:

Tumaro’s Gourmet Tortillas are a gem for healthy eaters.  At only 60 calories per tortilla, they’re extremely light!  And they’re made with oat fiber, soybean flour, almond meal, whole wheat, and lots of other good stuff… so those are 60 powerful calories you’re getting!  (And they’re taking the place of white flour and lard, the ingredients you’d find in a typical tortilla.)  I use these for breakfast burritos, turkey/avocado wraps for lunch, or smeared with peanut butter for a snack.  They’re pretty much a lifesaver!

~

The second thing I’ll share today is a recipe.  This is what I had for breakfast today!

Pumpkin Spiced Steel-Cut Oats

*Note: Steel-cut oats are the healthiest way to eat oatmeal because they leave the most fiber intact.  They usually take about 30 minutes to prepare, but my method of soaking them overnight allows you to nuke them in the microwave for just 3 minutes before chowing down.  You can add any number of fruits, nuts, and extras to your oats… but here is a nice pumpkin option for Fall.  Pumpkin is a terrific source of  lutein and beta carotene, not to mention protein and fiber!

Ingredients:

1/4 C. dry steel-cut oats

1/4 C. skim milk

1 pinch Stevia

1/4 tsp. cinnamon

1/8 tsp. salt

2 T. pumpkin puree

Directions:

Pour milk over the oats and add enough water to cover them by about 1/2 an inch.  Cover with plastic wrap and let soak overnight in the fridge.

Add remaining ingredients stirring to combine and microwave on high for 3 minutes.  Enjoy!

~

Side Note: To round out this breakfast, I’d also recommend a boiled egg or two and a cup of green tea.  But I’ll post about green tea another time!  Bet you can’t wait for that.

Happy almost-Holidays!

🙂

21 Comments leave one →
  1. Carolyn Walters permalink
    October 22, 2012 7:38 pm

    You GO, girl! I am thinking I am right there with you. There’s no time like the present, as they say! And a full month should help do the trick. Love your little helpful hints and recipies – keep ’em comin’! (By the way, and this is WAY off the subject of healthy – Anna and I made the pear/apricot tart this weekend – DIVINE!!) Love you,
    Aunt Carolyn

  2. Jacque permalink
    October 22, 2012 7:42 pm

    Thanks for the recipe sounds yummy.Think I will mix some up tonight for breakfast tomorrow.Even looks WW friendly.I was in Searcy just recently and got to visit with Harrison everttime I mentipned Elsa he light up. Cant’t wait to see her. Love all the pics you post.love u and good luck

  3. Kelli permalink
    October 22, 2012 7:58 pm

    Great thinking girl! Africa has been tough on me. There is no lean meat that is affordable so i mainly eat bread, rice, and sugar. I will try to be healthier this coming up month in honor of the Casey household!!! Xoxo

    • October 22, 2012 8:25 pm

      Are eggs readily available? That and nuts and beans could help you out in the protein department. I’m sure it’s the furthest thing from easy there!

  4. Brenda permalink
    October 22, 2012 9:21 pm

    Our family is doing it too!!! Keep the recipes comin sista cuz I’m scared my body is going to go into shock without my sweets after every meal! I need all the healthy motivation I can get! Love you!

    • October 23, 2012 12:48 am

      Oh man Brenda, I am right there with you! I just had steak, cauliflower and spinach souffle for dinner and I’m fighting with every ounce of my strength not to go get a big bowl of ice cream. I eat sweets every day!! Good luck to you.

  5. October 22, 2012 9:40 pm

    First of all, you and your baby are beautiful! Second, 160 calories!?! Apparently I don’t bat and eyelash OR check the label! I love your post and your idea. I’m the same way about setting out the meat!! -Julia

    • October 23, 2012 12:49 am

      So sad isn’t it? It’s not that hard, just set out meat… but I hate having to think ahead and do it, and then dirty up a frying pan. I’m so lazy. Glad I’m not the only one 😉

  6. emily cheatham permalink
    October 23, 2012 12:53 am

    Ok I’m all for trying these steel-cut oats. I’ve never heard of them though…will I find them by the regular oats in the breakfast aisle?

    • October 23, 2012 1:00 am

      They would be wherever your grocery store stocks the “whole-grain” type stuff… my Kroger keeps them in the natural foods aisle (near the cereal.) They are delicious!

Trackbacks

  1. Protein Plus! « Pretty / Hungry
  2. Add “secret” vegetables to chili! « Pretty / Hungry
  3. Breaking One of My Rules… « Pretty / Hungry
  4. Some Healthy Desserts! « Pretty / Hungry
  5. Bring On The Holidays! (Fruit Pies 101) « Pretty / Hungry
  6. Spaghetti Squash with Pesto & Parmesan (Plus a New Category!) | Pretty / Hungry
  7. Be “Extra Good” to Your Body in October! | Pretty / Hungry
  8. Be “Extra Good” to Your Body in October! |
  9. Bring On The Holidays! (Fruit Pies 101) |

Share Your Thoughts...

