Skip to content

Protein Plus!

October 29, 2012

When I am eating very healthfully, as I am doing this month, one of the saddest things I give up is sugary cereals.  In the course of a “normal” month, I consume numerous bowls of some of my faves: Chocolate Cheerios, Golden Grahams, & Raisin Bran Crunch to name a few.  And of course a moderate serving of any of these cereals is just fine to eat… I’m not calling them evil.  But I am saying that I could be taking in far more useful and nutritious calories.

And yet, I ache for cereal… I love cereal!  I’ve gotta have it!

Enter Special K Protein Plus.

~

This cereal satisfies my craving for a cold, crunchy, and slightly sweet breakfast treat… but packs a nutritional punch.  I had a bowl this morning, in fact.  Topped with a handful of raspberries for extra fiber, antioxidants, and (oh yeah) flavor!

So here’s how it stacks up as far as your diet is concerned:

A 100-calorie serving of this stuff contains 10 grams of protein and 14 grams of carbs.  That means it is 42% protein!  That means that although you may be taking in 100 calories of cereal, only 58 of them are carbohydrates (and with 5 grams of fiber per serving, many of those carbs are the beneficial “complex” kind.)

And that is some pretty awesome news for a cereal-lover like me!

~

It is still difficult for me to limit my daily cereal intake to one meal. (I can and have been known to eat it for all three, plus a few snacks!)  But what I’m saying is, this stuff makes a detox month more do-able.  And it’s a great vehicle for a lovely serving of berries or raisins.

*Side note, I think this cereal is perfectly delicious without any added sweetener.  It has a nice subtley-sweet cinnamon flavor.  But my husband dumps in a few packets of Splenda, and it is certainly your prerogative to do so.  (Although I prefer Stevia and honey because they are more natural.)

~

More tips to come!  In the meantime, Happy Halloween Week and resist the evil that lies in wait for you on Wednesday, ready to pounce.  Repeat after me, “Nothing tastes as good as being healthy feels.  Not even Reese’s Pumpkins.”

Yeah right.  Is it Thanksgiving yet?  Have I already asked that?  I thought so.

 

Share Your Thoughts...

