Skip to content

“Have a Healthy Week!” Round-Up

August 26, 2013

Helllllllo Everyone!

Do you find yourself in cooking “ruts” sometimes… fixing the same meals week after week?  Spaghetti night, taco night, breakfast night, leftover night, repeat the cycle next Monday?

Well I thought it might be helpful to post a little round-up of healthy meal ideas for you to try.  Some of these are my own recipes, and others I’ve found on other lovely blogs.  My family has tried them and LOVED them!

Most are pretty affordable too!  (With the exception of the Spicy Stewed Beef over Cheddar Polenta. For that, I recommend buying a whole chuck roast on sale and chopping it into bite-sized pieces yourself rather than buying pricier “beef stew meat.”  Roasts can usually be found on sale.  Also this meal will likely feed your family over two days, so take that into consideration.)

~

Nigella’s “Slime Soup”– It’s made with peas, pesto, and mozzarella cheese and it’s SO easy and nourishing!  I throw in other green veggies depending on what I have… edamame, spinach, broccoli.  All are scrumptious!

Slime Soup
~

The Pioneer Woman’s Spicy Stewed Beef over Cheddar Polenta–  I’m making this this week!  It’s soooo good.  In and of itself, I would not call it “super healthy,” but if you eat a moderate portion with a side of salad or broccoli it’s very balanced.

Spicy Beef and Polenta
~

The Galley Gourmet’s Chicken & Spinach Tortilla Pie with Tomatillo Salsa–  Oh my goodness how I adore tomatillo salsa!  I’m also making this this week.  (I don’t make my own tomatillo salsa though… I buy the can.)

Chkn Spin Tortilla Pie with Salsa Verde
~

Spaghetti Squash with Pasta ToppingsVery healthy.  Spaghetti squash has only 40 calories per cup and you can make it taste like whatever you want!  I really like adding pesto and paremsan cheese.  YUM.

Spaghetti Squash with Pesto & Parmesan >>Pretty/Hungry Blog
~

Potato Sausage & Kale Soup– Very tasty, SUPER healthy, and inexpensive.  This is hands-down my husband’s favorite soup.

Potato, Sausage, & Kale Soup > Pretty/Hungry Blog
 ~

Stuffed Shells with Ground Turkey and Artichokes–  I LOVE this meal!  It’s easy but impressive enough for company.  But since posting the recipe, I’ve decided it definitely needs onion and garlic sauteed in with the meat or there’s not enough flavor.  So just be sure you add that.   Also it is equally delicious if you use chicken instead of ground turkey, so if you bought chicken this week, just save money and use that instead!

Stuffed Shells with Ground Turkey & Artichoke >> Pretty/Hungry Blog~

Hope you enjoy these as much as our family does!

XOXO

No comments yet

Share Your Thoughts...

