Skip to content

How To Get Three Meals Out Of One Roast Beef

August 28, 2013

Beef Pot Pie >> Pretty/Hungry Blog

This week I had a roast in my freezer that needed to be used.  (What a treat!  Often we eat meatless meals or meals light on meat to save money.)

I decided to make good old pot roast in a crock pot with some potatoes and carrots to go with it.  Who doesn’t love a tender roast beef and those deliciously flavored carrots and potatoes that have been cooking in the juice all day?  We’re big fans. 🙂 And since our family of two adults and one baby cannot possibly eat an entire roast in one night, I knew I’d be left with ample leftovers.

And don’t get me wrong… leftover pot roast is great!  But I get a little sick of the same ol’ same, night after night.  So I reinvented pot roast two different ways this week (using my leftovers) and thought I’d share my ideas with you!

~

Night #1- Traditional Pot Roast with Carrots and Potatoes  (*Note: I actually cut off about 1/2 of my meat prior to roasting, to set aside for Meal #3 later this week.  It is fine to do this, or to go ahead and roast the whole thing and just use the cooked leftovers later in the week.)

~

Night #2- Beef Pot Pie

Beef Pot Pie > Pretty/Hungry Blog

This is truly, mouth-wateringly delicious!   To make the filling, you can use the same meat, potatoes, and carrots you roasted the day before.  Add in a cup or so of frozen corn, frozen peas, frozen broccoli, any veggie of your choice really!  Spoon in enough liquid to make the mixture stirrable, and then use leftover mashed potatoes (or instant potato flakes) to thicken it up nicely!

And the crust is super simple.  (I make a single-crust version rather than a double, just to lighten it up a bit.  We don’t even miss that top layer… it is yummy enough without it!)

In a food processor, combine:

-1 C flour

-1 stick cold, unsalted butter (cut into cubes)

-1/2 tsp salt

-1/2 tsp sugar

Then pulse in in:

-1 tsp white vinegar

-1/8 C. cold milk

Pulse til the dough forms a ball.  (Splash in just a touch more milk if the dough is still crumbly.)  Turn dough out onto a sheet of wax paper, pat gently into a disc, cover with plastic wrap, and chill in the fridge for about an hour.  Then roll into a circle roughly 11-12 inches in diameter and transfer to a 9-in. pie plate, taking care not to stretch the dough to fit.

Scrape filling into the crust and fold the edges over to contain the filling (as pictured.)  Back at 375 for 15 minutes, then reduce the heat to 350 and cook for another 20-25 minutes, until crust is golden brown and filling is bubbly.  🙂

~

Night #3- Spicy Stewed Beef over Cheddar Polenta

Spicy Beef and Polenta

Photo Credits to Ree Drummond of The Pioneer Woman blog

I discovered this meal on The Pioneer Woman’s blog… so she gets all the credit!  I made it soon after I first saw it and it has since become a family favorite.  The meat is stewed in beef broth and Adobo sauce, and the result is an amazingly tangy and spicy (and craaaazy tender) meat dish.  And the cheddar polenta is a perfect compliment.  I highly recommend trying this one.

She recommends buying beef stew meat, which is nothing more than cut-up cubes of traditional roast beef meat.  So since we are saving money by getting three meals out of our roast this week, all you will need to do differently is cut up your leftover hunk of raw roast into bite-sized cubes before stewing it.

~

So if you (like me) find yourself in a “budgeting” season of life right now, I hope this will encourage you.  You can afford to feed your family the occasional meaty meal, especially if you’re willing to devote some extra time and effort to the planning and preparation.  (I can usually always find a large roast on sale for $10 or less when I check the Manager’s Special meat section at our Kroger.  Stretched out over two or three meals, I’d say that’s pretty good!)

If your family is anything like mine, I know they’ll thank you for it!

Share Your Thoughts...

