Skip to content

Sour Cream Cupcakes with Raspberry Filling and White Chocolate Lemon Buttercream

December 22, 2010

Yowsa!  Long name, right?

But actually, we’ve made this before… sort of.

Remember this post?

This is Emily’s Shower Cake!  (Also known as PERFECT white cake… and if I’m calling it perfect, you know its good because I don’t throw that word around and I don’t give generous descriptions to white cake.  In fact, generally, the word you’ll hear me using to describe white cake is “bleaugghh.”  That’s how you know this is good!)

~

My wonderful sister requested I make this cake for this weekend (which happens to be Christmas weekend in my wonderful home-state of Missouri!)  I told her yes.  Then, I decided to shake things up a bit and make a cupcake version.  For one thing… its easier for everyone to dig into, for another… its WAY easier to transport in the car.  Hence the cupcake version of Emily shower cake was born!

~

Come.

Join us in cupcake land where everyone is happy.

The cake is super simple.  I’ve even written up an adapted recipe for cupakes, you can find it here!

~

Once you’ve got it all mixed up… just line some muffin tins with cupcake papers and spray them down with some non-stick spray.

Then fill them no more than halfway, like so…

~

By the way… I found the perfect raspberry filling for this recipe!

Are you ready for it?

Its SUUUUPER special stuff.

That’s right folks!  Kroger brand “Just Fruit.”  Ok… so it may not be Grandma’s homemade preserves… but it IS wholesome and doesn’t contain crazy additives.   But the real reason I’ll be getting it from now on in because its the perfect consistency for this.  You don’t have to break it up to get it to spread… its spready already!

~

Drop little spoonfulls of raspberry filling into the center of each cupcake cup and spread it out a bit so every bite will have some raspberry in it.

~

Then just drizzle one or two more spoonfulls of batter over the filling.  Try to spread it to the edges so it seals in all the raspberry goodness!

~

They’ll bake in a 325 degree oven for 28-30 minutes… and they’ll come out looking (and smelling) like a million bucks!

~

Once they’ve cooled… just whip up the White Chocolate Lemon Buttercream Frosting from this post and you’re good to go!  (Just make sure you set your butter out well ahead of time.  I forget this step about ninety nine percent of the time.)

A few extra shavings of lemon zest and a fresh raspberry complete the treat quite nicely.

~

These are truly scrumptious!  And think how cute they’d be for a shower or birthday party!

And if you’re like me and don’t give two hoots about white cake… all I can say is don’t knock em’ til you try em’!

My back hurts from cooking all night by the way (after making these, I made spinach dip, vegetable casserole, and avocado eggrolls.)  And I’ll definitely be showing you those eggrolls at some point in the future!  They’ll change your life.

But for now, my bed is calling!

Share Your Thoughts...